MEA profile : The Marist Education Authority

The Marist Education Authority




 Jean Claude Colin (1790-1875), founder of the Society of Mary (Marist Fathers), set a clear and compelling vision for the contribution that Marist schools can offer society. That vision focused on the central importance of educating young people as Christian citizens and the value of every young person as a unique individual. The values of a Marist education:

high academic standards – responsible citizens – Christian values have been at the core of Marist education in Ireland since the foundation of St. Mary’s College, Dundalk in 1861, Catholic University School Dublin in 1867, and Chanel College, Dublin in 1955.

How Marists deliver that mission has adapted over the years as education philosophy has changed and evolved. Up to the 1960’s, it was primarily the work of the Marist Fathers who taught in and managed the schools. Over recent decades this has changed, and today, these schools are increasingly places of partnership between lay staff, pupils, parents and the Marist Fathers

“As religious congregations diminish in numbers we have all been challenged to confront questions about the future of our mission. The Marist Fathers have been fully involved in this process. Because we value our Marist charism and long tradition in education we have chosen to continue our involvement in this ministry but in a new and what we hope is a sustainable way. The Marist Education Authority (MEA) is the result of our deliberations and is our way of sustaining and continuing our education mission into the future”.  (Marist Education Authority: Roles, Responsibilities and Authority booklet 2011)


Marist Education Authority:
The Marist Education Authority (MEA) is a trust body set up by the Marist Fathers to oversee the operation and management, including Faith Leadership and Governance, of four schools in the Republic of Ireland. These schools are:
St Mary’s College, Dundalk – a coeducational secondary school.
Chanel College, Dublin – a single-sex boys’ secondary school.
Catholic University School Primary – a fee paying, coeducational primary school.
Catholic University School Post Primary – a single-sex, fee paying boys’ secondary school.


MEA Education Director: Mr. Diarmaid O’Murchú
Education, Curriculum and School Planning & Improvement Consultant: Mrs.Mary Forde

The members of the Marist Education Authority are:  Mr. Niall McVeigh, Mr. Tommy Flynn, Mr. Seán McCann, Fr. Cormac McNamara, Fr. David Corrigan ,Fr. Edwin McCallion

The Board of Directors are:
Fr. John Hannon (Chairperson), Fr. John Hand, Ms. Antoinette Nic Gearailt, Ms. Frances Neary, Ms.Catherine Kirk, Mr. Robert Dunne, Mr. Gerry Lambe, Mr. Brian Dooney,Mr. Ken Byrne